The Friends of NIA signed a letter, dated July 26, 2011, to Congressman Dennis Rehberg (R-MT) and Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Chairman and Ranking Member, respectively, of the House Labor, Health and Human Services and Education Appropriations Subcommittee. The letter (organized by the Coalition to Promote Research (CPR)) urges the leaders of this pivotal House Appropriations subcommittee, which funds the National Institutes of Health (NIH), to “continue to support the competitive scientific merit review process and oppose any legislative language or restrictions that would eliminate funding for specific peer-reviewed research grants supported by the National Institutes of Health.”

This letter was drafted as a result of recent attacks on the NIH peer review process. See these links to learn more about these attacks:

Information on the recent grants targeted by Traditional Values Coalition is available at:

CPR is collecting signatures and will send the letter to all members of the U.S. House of Representatives between the bill’s committee mark up and floor consideration. If you support the NIH peer review process and are concerned about any attempts members of Congress may pursue to “de-fund” peer reviewed, previously awarded grants, please add your consider signing the letter by contacting Angela Sharpe and Karen Studwell at [email protected].

The letter is posted at: